SD Library is ALIVE!!!

Exciting times!!!  Now I have a fully functional Raw SD/MMC library working on the ATmega168!   This library isn’t optimized for Arduino, since I prefer making my own drivers. I have found many Arduino libraries for writing to SD/MMC cards, so there are other libraries available.

I created this library (with the help of at least 3 other libraries) so that I could log measurements and IO pins directly to a microSD card. Not only am I giving you the library (SD_Card.c, SD_Card.h), but I’m giving you all of my code so that you can see how everything is initialized.  I also have a jpg of how to wire the SD card to the ATmega168.  There is also a detailed Readme.txt that first explains the File Structure, Programming Environment, Programmer, Hyper terminal program used, then serves as a notebook, explaining some of the troubles I went through to get it to work.

Here are the stats for the things I have setup (2 timers, ADC, USART, SPI, and SD_card)

text       data        bss        dec        hex    filename
7638          0        562       8200       2008    ATmega168_slash.out

FLASH: text + data
SRAM: data + bss

So for this software, I’m using 7638 bytes of Flash and 562 bytes of SRAM.  For the ATmega168, there is 16K of flash and 1K of SRAM available, so there still is a good deal of room left.

Hope you guys enjoy this!  I’m using Mercurial for version control, and I’m finding it very easy to use and helpful for figuring out if something went wrong.

2 thoughts on “SD Library is ALIVE!!!

    • I’m not quite sure how I could integrate it with Arduino, but luckily Arduino does come with an SD library that’s quite powerful. The only problem is that it takes up a decent amount of space.

Leave a Reply

