GPS board thoughts

I just realized that I should have breadboard-friendly pins on the GPS board, so looks like I will modify it to have those, making it a full featured board (RJ45, USB, and breadboard friendly, 2 LEDs).

I just ordered 10 6DOF accelerometers with magnetometers for a wonderful price of $5.25 each, much much better than the $30 fully assembled board that is available from Pololu and Sparkfun.  This is the next mini board that I will make as soon as finals are over. Purchased from Newark since both Mouser and Digikey have the module for more than $10.  Module is LSM303DLH, which is an ST module I believe.  These modules return 16 bit values for acceleration and magnetometer readings, which I have to determine at what level is the noise comparable to the actual signal.  It will be a little harder since I can’t exactly stick a scope on it.

It will have the following features:

  • bidirectional I2C communication (works with 5V systems!)
  • RJ45 connector
  • breadboard pins for quick prototyping
  • small form factor
  • 3V and 1.8V power supplies
  • Power LED

I try to include LED’s into my boards so that I can quickly see if its getting power.  Another idea: Enable pin to enable board, bring up voltage regulators perhaps?

Leave a Reply

