Becoming Refamiliar with the BTM-182 Bluetooth Serial Module

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was excited to start building the Controller today… but I noticed that I didn’t have enough female headers, so I decided to breadboard the controller for now. I wired up my BTM-182 Bluetooth Serial module that I purchased almost a year ago (I bought 8 of them, they were kind of expensive ($15 each)). It was a time in which price didn’t matter as much, and I saw them as a pretty good deal ($15 vs %60 BlueSmirf’s).

So I was working on which commands to send the modem, to configure it. If it is in slave mode, You can enter command mode (+++), and tell it to go into discovery mode (ATH1). Then you can use your computer to detect it, and connect to it.

For master mode, it is a little more complicated. I haven’t ironed it out yet, but it is some combination of entering command mode (+++), Setting it in master mode (ATR0), finding other BT things (ATF?) and choosing to connect to a specific BT thing (ATF#, where # is the number of the BT thing that ATF? returns).

I’m not sure what I’ll use for the BT module, but I can see that with it, I can connect to my computer or other wireless things (iPod, Android) hopefully. Perhaps I should do a test to see how far away I can connect to it, and communicate with it…

Since I’m a good engineer, last night I was searching for other AVR controllers, or Arduino Controllers, yet I didn’t find any actual controllers like the one I will design (or the one I already have designed). So I will be sure to take pictures, for science! Still waiting on the Nunchucks…

One thought on “Becoming Refamiliar with the BTM-182 Bluetooth Serial Module

  1. Hi, my name is Rickie, and i’m doing a project with this bluetooth module talking to a pic16f722 right now, but I’m stacking at a point, and would like to know if you can give me some advice. Right now, I’m trying to get the bluetooth module communicate with PC first via usb-rs232 cable. In the PC, I configure the COM port as 19200bps, 8 data bits, none parity, 1 stop bit, and no flow control. I supply 3.3VDC to V_BUS and VDD in the bluetooth module.

    Bluetooth USB_RS232
    TX -> RX
    RX -> TX
    GND -> GND

    I also apply 3.3V with 20K resistor to the RESET pin on BT.

    There’s no communication at all. Once I setup the hyper terminal, it said COM port is open.
    Please give me some advice, and my email is:

    Thanks
    Rickie

Leave a Reply

