Controller 2.0 – Control, is complete. Now to make compatable things to control :P

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So here it is, fully built. I went through 2 of the $0.24 cases until I found an arrangement that worked the best. I originally planned to have the LCD on the top, but if I did that, it would be really hard to get it low enough, and to have all of the connectors connected. Notice the extensive use of wire-wrapping, it is awesome!

When I built the boards, i did it slowly, checking my work to make sure I didn’t accidentally short things (a few times I did). Once everything was soldered down, I did a sanity check: Are power, ground connected to the right pins? Are two pins right next to each other shorted? (I did that check with every socket and connector, since that is where that happens. As a consequence, when I first powered everything up, it worked. Everything worked. Another good point, that many can miss, is that I used all new parts, so my original prototype is still here and works as well.

Having that prototype there to compare wiring really helped me in building this, since it showed me errors in the schematic that I made (I corrected them, but still need to make a ‘final’ schematic in Kicad).

So what does it do? As of now, it doesn’t Control anything, but that is the next step. I will create a little arduino project that measures a voltage, displays it on the Control LCD, and turns a servo based on Nunchuck feedback on the Controller. Some pretty simple stuff, just to show off the features of making things packetized. That will get me into temperature measuring for my cars, as well as RC car control.

Leave a Reply

