Needed features completed for Carduino, all that remains is nice to have features

For this project, I broke up the features into need to haves, and want to haves, with the intention that I could call the project complete once all of the need to haves are complete. I wanted a basic engine monitoring circuit that I can put into my cars, and I have that now.

I even added two shift registers with 8 LEDS and a BCD 8 segment display to compliment it. The purpose would be to display the sensor number, and if it is in a good range or not. I will mount this so that the driver can see it and monitor it. If a temperature or voltage exceeds the threshold in a dangerous way (over temp), It will not only sound an alarm, but light the small decimal point of the BCD so that I know something is up. I need to add sleep code, but that’s about it (and controlling the power rail of the BT serial, SD, GPS, and LEDs with a mosfet).

The remaining want to haves include: GPS and gyro. I don’t anticipate any problems with adding those, even though for both of those, I will be forced to use the SW versions of the protocols (serial, i2c) rather than using the on-board module.

I’m going to be doing some more testing of the alerting code (moving the temperature sensors near an open flame, monitoring temp on controller), but once I do that, I’ll start soldering boards up for it (with connectors for Gyro and GPS for future upgrades) and wiring up my car. I’ll be using the MotionPlus as a gyro, since it is so cheap.

The next two projects I’ll be working on is a Gardening bot, and a arduino for my Traxxas Slash RC car. Might be getting some video equipment so that I can see what the car sees, in real-time. Will also look into updating the OpenCurrent to add some goodies, and making a PCB of my controller, similar to the Ardustation.

I look back at the past 4 months, and I see how doing things, while not perfectly, can accomplish things. If I were too afraid to fail, I would do nothing, as history has shown. Some of the lessons I’ve learned: If it’s too hard, break it down. If your losing motivation, try switching your focus. Record everything in a notebook, writing ideas, no matter how silly. And above all, create rather than consume.

Leave a Reply

