Carduino! It’s Alive!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just a re-cap: This is a little project that will be embedded into my car, that logs the temperature of the engine, transmission, radiator, and interior to an SD card. If something gets too hot, it will show the warning led (decimal point) as well as make an audible notification (cue mario dying song). It can connect to my Controller 2.0 via a BTM-182 module, and if connected, it will display all 5 of the measured temperatures, as well as the voltage, on the controller (without needing any parsing by the controller). This will be my early alert system to warn me if something is getting too hot. In the future I may add sensors to detect the level of radiator coolant, but that is a nice-to-have, rather than need-to-have. The code for this, will be released shortly (Once I have this in my car I imagine).

It’s done! I admit, I did run into some problems. When I first powered up the Carduino main board, there seemed to be a short somewhere. I removed a diode, which of course didn’t help. After poking around, I discovered that the connections for the package of voltage regulator were wrong. After a quick rewire, it produced regulated 3.3v. After fixing a few forgot-to-solder’s, and a ‘soldered but didn’t make connection’, it fully works. I do need to do some tweaking of the software, so that it turns off at 12.3v instead of 14.0v (since I’ll be using a switch to turn it on/off).

Exciting times! Now I just need to get this in the car, and I’ll be set! I’ll need to take care of potential moisture in the temperature cable as well, but I’ll figure that out as needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

